A day of ups and downs!

Today was a days of ups and downs and I’m not just referring to the elevation. It was a rough day 2 – it was longer than day 1 (20 mi vs 16) and more than double the elevation (3,800 vs 1,800) and it rained the final 5k during a very long big climb to end the day. You can’t go through a journey like this without having days like this. Just wasn’t feeling my strongest yet as I’m still in the physical adjustment stage of the journey! Oh and just to add insult to injury – I forgot my sunglasses at albergue which I discovered luckily just 5-10 mins into an initial climb out of Grado and yes I did the thing I said was very hard to do on this trail !! – got lost but with 6 others and we all made the same wrong turn into a rough trail we eventually turned after about 15 or so minutes thinking we’d eventually merge into the Camino trail which is the last thing I needed to do add extra k’s to my day:). Like someone said we were like sheep just following each other:) . As far as my sunglasses go well it was as they say another Camino provides moment – I decided to turn around since I wasn’t too far out and before I got almost all the way back another pilgrim motioned to me if he was going the right way I said yes and pointed to my eyes – his eyes immediately lit up and he pulled out my sunglasses! That was Leonardo from Argentina which I crossed paths with a few times today.

Despite the tough day, the climbs gave way to incredible views and ended the day at one of the most talked about albergues on the Camino Primitivo. Albergue bodenya epitomizes what the Camino spirit is all about. A small Camino with nothing else around it, only 10 beds, donativo and they provide you with a delicious homemade dinner along with breakfast and they do your laundry ! David and his wife take great pride and care of the pilgrims and at the end of the night gave a great history and what the Camino meaning is all about to him. We had a great group tonight and believe it or not the Americans has the most (4 of us at the table). We had Italians, Netherlands, Germany, Slovenia with us. Walking in I was really beat and not feeling so well as the final 7k was a long continuous uphill climb but by the end of the night after a delicious homemade soup and salad and bread – I was recharged and ready for day 3.

After all I hopefully have my typical losing something and getting lost out of the way very early on this journey 🙂

Camino history lesson 🙂
Salas was a very small but cool medieval passed thru before starting my final 7k long climb to bodenya. I took my a much needed lunch break there.
More Salas
Yes we all missed this marker at a split point in the trail – it was kind of hidden!
Group of us trying to make our way back to trail:)
This old massive monastery actually has an albergue in it
Encounters on the Camino you don’t normally see everyday at home 😂
Initial climb out of Grado

2 thoughts on “A day of ups and downs!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.