Marathon day as Primitivo merges with Frances

25.9 mi (41.70 km), 2,343 ft gain (714 m), 3,045 ft loss (928 m). – AS Seixas to Salceda (albergue alborado)

A very long but good day has bumped up arrival into Santiago tomorrow as I am currently about 28k away. So yes the official end of my pilgrimage has suddenly come upon me but I do plan on walking 3 more days from Santiago to Finisterre as many people do after arriving in Santiago. Today literally almost was as long as a marathon lol as I finished the day at 25.9 miles. Felt pretty strong throughout on a glorious blue sky sunny day although the heat started to get to me by end of day as it was in the low 80s.

Today was the day that the Primitivo merged with the most popular and crowded of all Camino routes the Camino Frances which was the route I took that started it all for me back in 2015. When we entered the town of Melide that is the merger point – once we past that town it became quite obvious you were no longer on the Primitivo as pilgrims were much more numerous. We also pass several more little towns once on this route and some definitely brought back some memories from over 7 years ago when I walked these same paths – so that was very cool. But it is a little unsettling to go from your quiet intimate Primtivo route to this more not so serene setting. But since I and several others of the group I’ve been seeing everyday decided to make this a long day by the time we got to the afternoon the number of pilgrims had shrunk as most were already at earlier stopping towns.

Earliest I’ve ever left so I got to see a beautiful sun rise
About 10 of the crew made it to this town today another 6-8 are a day or so back

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.